Sushi 🍱 and karaoke 🎀 

Welcome sushi 🍱 party at YNU

First I have to tell you about yesterday because my friends at the Mathematics department at YNU held a welcome party for me! They had prepared a sushi party where we made our own sushi. Similar to how we prepare tacos in Sweden with all the ingredients on different plates. So you take a small nori in your hand and put rice, fish dipped in soy sauce, vegetables and wasabi in it, roll it and then just eat it straight away. A really social way to eat I think. I’m really happy that I have such nice colleges here at YNU!

IMG_4746

First karaoke in Japan! πŸ‡―πŸ‡΅ 🎀

Today my lovely new IAESTE friends showed me my first karaoke place in Japan, so much fun! It was a bit confusing at first because we where meeting at Uta Hiroba (karaoke chain) in Shinjuku, Tokyo, but it turned out that there is 3(!) Uta Hiroba places in Shinjuku and I didn’t know that. Luckily they found me so we could go to a curry restaurant to eat before singing. I think that was a good idea because we had two hours of singing with free alcohol… At the karaoke place you get your own room with an iPad to choose songs and a phone to order drinks, really convenient. I hope I can go for many more karaoke nights during my 8 months in Japan!


One thought on “Sushi 🍱 and karaoke 🎀 

Leave a comment